Why start blogging?

For awhile, I had been having an internal debate about starting my own Salesforce blog. There were already plenty out there (47 active ones according to JP Seabury). Was I really going to have anything new or different to say? On top of that, I’ve never been a very eloquent writer. I assumed that I would probably struggle through post, get frustrated & give up.

So what was the tipping point? Erica Kuhl & the Salesforce.com Community conference. While I missed my shining moment on stage, Erica & the CommCon recognized me as a community MVP. I’m not saying this to toot my own horn. What happened was that I realized I’ve already been writing about Salesforce, and people were already listening & interested in what I had to say.

I can’t promise that every entry will be well-written or even particularly exciting. But they will be honest thoughts  and (hopefully) helpful tips from a Salesforce uber-junkie.

And if it doesn’t work out…you can always find me in 140 characters or less!

8 Comments to “Why start blogging?”

  1. I come from the school of thought that anyone who is passionate about a subject should have a blog about it. Even with other blogs about SFDC out there, Im sure you can give different perspectives and help spread the word about the greatness of the platform. Looking forward to your posts.

  2. Thank you for the vote of confidence! I’m looking forward to this blogging adventure.

  3. When is the first post coming?

  4. Becka, I’m so glad you made the move to blog. I look forward to reading all you’ve got to say. I’ve enjoyed the conversation on Twitter and this allows you a few more characters to convey your thoughts. Thanks too for inclusion on the Blogroll.

  5. Good luck with the blog Becka! It definitely takes commitment, but I’m sure you’ll be great at it!

    My advice is to not strive to be perfect. Post your tips, best practices, thoughts, gripes, articles you like, etc. Don’t treat blogging like writing the perfect paper and aim for frequency and relevancy to build a following.

    MVP! MVP! MVP!

    Darren
    http://cloudintegration.wordpress.com/

    • Darren — Thanks for the kind words. My first goal is to get in to a routine. I want to figure out what is a prime posting time & then have a regular weekly post. Being an MVP can’t hurt (nor being a rockstar!).

Leave a Reply

