It’s OK – you can trust me

December 2005. January 2006.

I remember the events so clearly, for two reasons. One – They were major disruptions & completely halted business operations. And two – it hasn’t happened since.

I’m talking about the hours-long service interruptions that salesforce.com users experienced over 5 years ago. With all the buzz about what’s been going on with Amazon Web Services and what it means for the cloud, I couldn’t help but to think back to the last major cloud disruption that I experienced.

As a Salesforce admin, as in my life, I like to know every detail about everything. I’ve said it before, I’m all about the data. But so often we are left in black holes. How many times have you had a flight delayed & you can’t get a concrete answer out of anyone, and the airline’s website has more details than the person behind the counter? It’s incredibly frustrating. Why treat your customers like that?

So how did Salesforce react to their outages? Just weeks after the episodes, they launched trust.salesforce.com, giving the whole complete visibility to their system status. Not only did they show issues & disturbances, but average speed of transaction & upcoming maintenance notifications. Complete and total honesty leads to trust. Nothing can be perfect 100% of the time, but I certainly appreciate when a vendor respects me enough to be honest.

Oh – and 128 days until Dreamforce11!!

3 Comments to “It’s OK – you can trust me”

  1. I remember those outages. They always occurred just after new releases and happened for a few releases in a row. On the first one, we were (unwisely) conducting the end user training for a new Salesforce rollout on the Monday after the new release. We were pretty much up there doing shadow puppets and using screenshots from quick reference docs to try and explain things. It sucked.

  2. Thanks for sharing – we need to be reminded of this fact from time to time. People tend to remember these types of events and forget the fact that it *hasn’t* happened again for so long.

    Oh… And I’d love to hear about that time when your fight was delayed… What were you about to fight about and how did it end up being delayed? Sorry, I had to bring that up – laughed out loud when I read it and started thinking about reasons for delaying a fight. 😉

Leave a Reply

