The Importance of Being Cert-ed

“Salesforce.com Admin”

“Salesforce.com Developer”

These days, it seems like those are magic words if you’re job hunting. And when that happens, along come people who are willing to ride the wave for as long as they can. Because of this, being able to separate yourself from the pack & have some independent “proof” that you know what you’re doing becomes that much more important. Salesforce.com certifications are the way to do this.

With seven different certifications available, finding the one (or many) that fit your role and skill set should be easy. But here is the guidance that I’d like to share. If you’re a Button-Click Admin, strongly consider taking the Developer Exam. I know the title sounds scary, but the basic dev exam is all clicks, zero code. Conversely, the Admin Exam has a lot of things they I never touch in my day-to-day & was a lot trickier for me.

Some of you will be able to take the exam on your skills alone, and some of you might need to take a Salesforce.com course to help prep you. There’s no shame in that – these exams are hard for a reason. You *earn* the certification. You then have to maintain the certification, which forces you to set current on ever release — not a bad thing!

And while I 100% believe it’s important to love your job, it’s also important to show the world the skills you have & get the credit you deserve.

4 Comments to “The Importance of Being Cert-ed”

  1. I’d LOVE to get cert’ed, but I’m too busy working in Salesforce to study, and I’m too scared about dropping the $200 on the exam and blowing it (nevermind the $1500 for the class) to just wing the test :-(.

  2. I absolutely agree- get the certifications that apply to what you want/can do! They are a great way of establishing your reputation, gaining respect, and shows a dedication to the brand and your personal development. Also a handy reminder/excuse to actually go through the release notes since you have to maintain the certification.

    However, I have a different perspective on taking the dev test if you’re a button-click admin. Could I take it in my sleep? I believe so! However, I am wary of putting the word “developer” on my resume/site/etc because recruiters/etc take a very fast leap to understanding that as knowing how to code/program. Even mentioning that I’ve taken Dev 401 has led to misunderstandings. If you do know apex and vf, great. If you don’t, weigh the option. One day I’d like to be more in the dev side of things, and right now I can follow along with some code, but a coder I am not.

    Just another perspective to consider…

    • Elizabeth – Absolutely a good point. I think that it totally depends on who you are dealing with & their knowledge of the platform. The basic Developer certification definitely has a “buyer beware” warning, and you should certainly be able to explain what your skill set is and what it isn’t when you have this versus an Advanced Dev certification.

      Great point & thanks for sharing.

  3. Jake – For the past few years, Salesforce has opened up slots to take exams at Dreamforce for 50% off. If you are already planning on going, this could be a great option for you.

Leave a Reply

